Is this a type of randomisation-allocation method for prospective trials?

I'm a student and am currently undergoing an interventional, comparative trial with human subjects. The plan was for the study to be randomised, using stratified randomisation. However there were two issues..

1) One of the two interventions is only available for two weeks in May
2) My project hand in is May, and we only started recruiting 8 weeks ago. Sign up has been slow.

If I waited until recruiting all patients before doing stratified randomisation I would not get data, so we decided to have some patients in one group based on when they signed up (baring in mind they were all invited at the same time and signed up randomly) and some assigned to the intervention in May. THere is clearly a random element to this, but how would I describe it and is there any literature to back it up?

Cheers

I think I follow, but try describing this again, perhaps with an illustration.
I know it is quite hard to explain, I'll try my best to explain the original plan, give context on why it didn't work, and the new allocation method.

OK so this is a small pilot study of a new interventional (surgical) procedure vs control procedure. The original plan was to recruit all patients first and then to randomise them to each arm of the study (new intervention or control). This was stratified sampling so needed all the patients recruited first to see what variables may need controlling. However due to various reasons we only started recruiting in Feburary. Sign-up was slow, 4 weeks in we only had 30% of our target sample size, and it was a small aimed sample size. Because my final write up for this project is due at the end of May, if we waited for the full sample size of patients to join, it would be too late for me to get any data.