Logistic Regression: Testing for interaction effects with many covariates

Hello everyone! As topic states, I am running a logistic regression with quite a lot of independent variables (23). There are a lot more candidate variables but this is the best model I ended up with. I would like to know if there are any possible interaction/synergy effects among them, but there are too many combinations to test each possible interaction term in a different model. Is there a test I can use to test for possible interaction terms among my IV's? Btw, I am using my college's Stata 11.

I am fairly new to regression and have been trying to google and read up on this but all I get are pointers to ANOVA, which I doubt can be used for binary dependent variables. (don't they violate the assumptions for ANOVA?). This is also my first time joining a statistics forum. Thank you everyone in advance.

jpkelley

TS Contributor
Good question. First, I was struck with the large number of variables. You must have a pretty large data set to be able to handle that. May I ask how many total rows of data you have, just so everyone responding can have an idea about this?

You obviously have the right about of caution about wanting to avoid over-saturating your model. Unfortunately, for interactions, the multiple regression is exactly how you'll test if there are interactions. Have you considered one of the many model selection procedures out there? In your case, this might be a way to include as many variables and interactions into each model as you can, and then run what I imagine would be a very large number of models with all possible combinations. Then, you'll be forced into a model-averaging framework. Not sure if you want to go that route, as it can be hairy.

Thanks jpkelley for replying so quickly.

I only have 400 rows of data.

Your response made me wonder if perhaps I'm not asking the right questions.