Medical student - statistical advice needed please!

Hi everyone,

I'm a medical student currently completing a project and I would appreciate some guidance if possible.

I am looking at a population of around 2000 patients who arrive at the emergency department with chest pain. I am planning on splitting them into primary endpoint/not and secondary endpoint/not. The primary endpoint will be if they were diagnosed with a heart attack and the secondary endpoint will be a thing called a MACE score (this is used to predict patients who are likely to have adverse outcomes).

I have access to the population's cardiac risk factors and their mode of arrival to the ED. The mode of arrival to ED (e.g. ambulance/walk-in) is the main thing I am trying to look at.

What I am trying to figure out is how to compare these variables to see which are associated with the development of the outcomes.

I am not sure if it is best to use a summary odds ratio (with 95% clearance interval) and also include a P value?

Thanks a lot in advance
A confused medical student

AngleWyrm

The mode of arrival to ED (e.g. ambulance/walk-in) is the main thing I am trying to look at.
What I am trying to figure out is how to compare these variables to see which are associated with the development of the outcomes.
I can compare two properties and say if one is a predictor of another.

In order to use a category as a predictor of membership in another category, two proportions are needed. Since I'm not well versed in the medical field I'll use apples to illustrate:
  • The proportion of rotten apples in the population. Might be expressed as rotten apples per 100 000 apples
  • The proportion of rotten apples with the visible characteristic or category being examined, listed here as apples in wooden baskets
apples.png