Minimum Accepted Sample Size for Tolerance Interval (confidence interval)

Hi,

I'm using the tolerance interval function in minitab, my sample size is limited to 7 (the parts are expensive blah blah)

I've heard to be statistically significant a sample size of 30 is recommended but in practice how low can I go for sample size when using a confidence / tolerance interval? Is there a generally accepted minimum number of specimens??

Thanks

If you are sure that the data is normal, then you can use a sample size of 7 but probably the interval will be too large to be of use. Have you tried it?

Hi,

I am not an expert in Design Of Experiments but I don't think that there is a one-fits-all answer to the sample size. You need to have some estimations about your specimens before you can calculate a sample size: approximate mean value, approximate standard deviation, do you values roughly follow a normal distribution?

And you have to choose if you are interested in a confidence interval or a tolerance interval.

I posted a similar question this week. You might want to take a look at the answers in this thread:
http://www.talkstats.com/threads/ho...tween-predefined-upper-and-lower-limit.74001/

If you are sure the data is normal, then you can use a sample of 7, but it probably won't be of a great deal of use.
If you suspect that the data is not normal, and you only have a sample of 7 then this table may be of use. It says, for instance, that we can be 95% sure that 50% of the population lies between the largest and smallest values in your sample. kat

Attachments

If you are sure that the data is normal, then you can use a sample size of 7 but probably the interval will be too large to be of use. Have you tried it?
Yes I've tried it, the interval isn't that large in comparison to my limits. I don't have enough evidence to suggest it isn't normal...

In this case I have a two sided interval (upper and lower specification)
Upper: 24
Lower: 7.05