[Minitab] Determining sample distributions

Hi all,

This is probably a very simple question but I'm new to statistics and don't really know what I'm doing! I have an assignment that asks me to determine the sample distributions of some data. What does this mean and how do I do this in minitab 17? Any help would be greatly appreciated!
Thanks

Miner

TS Contributor
Are you trying to identify the type of population distribution (e.g., normal, lognormal, weibull, etc.) from which a sample came?

Researchers were interested in the effect of a toxin on an enzyme level produced in cells. 3 different concentrations of toxin were used and the levels of enzyme were measured.

0 20 40
4.1 2.7 3.2
4.1 3.9 3.2
3.4 3.2 3.4
4..2 3.0 3.4
3.0 3.3 2.8
3.4 3.3 2.8
2.6 3.6 3.8
3.5 3.6 2.7
3.7 4.0 3.6
3.3 4.2 3.5
3.7 3.3 3.7

Determine the sample distributions and use an appropriate statistical test to determine the effects of the toxin on enzyme levels.

That's what I understood by that question but I'm not really sure how to determine that, I'm only familiar with normal distributions

hlsmith

Omega Contributor
It would also help us if you told us what level of course this was and what you have covered (e.g, ttests, correlations, any non-parametric tests?).

Miner

TS Contributor
They may be asking you to verify normality assumptions then selecting an appropriate test (i.e., parametric vs. non-parametric) based upon whether the assumptions have been met.

noetsi

Fortran must die
The common way you determine what a distribution is would be to try qq plots for specific distributions and stop when you find one that matches :p But I am sure that is not what a class would teach.

hlsmith

Omega Contributor
Good point about qq-plots noetsi. I haven't played with data, but they only have 10 units. Also, I love histograms to visually compare measures centrality and dispersion between groups. But once again, your approach will be dictated by what you have covered in your course.

noetsi