Moving away from p-values

There has been a recent push to move away the reliance of statistical significance and using p < 0.05 as a threshold for reporting results. What do practicing statisticians think? Any merit to it? I have seen some guides on how to craft your language when reporting statistical results (e.g., Smith (2020) https://doi.org/10.1007/s12237-019-00679-y) but does anyone know how to report multiple comparisons? Especially if you have numerous comparisons to talk about (ie > 10), it would be impractical to use boxplots. Thanks in advance

Miner

TS Contributor
I find this "controversy" interesting. My background is in industrial statistics, and there is no replication crisis or p-value bashing in this field. This leads me to believe that there are certain, fundamental differences in how frequentist methods are applied in other disciplines and that these differences may be the issue.

Some possible differences:
  • We are only interested in large effects that stand out from the background noise (no Andrew Gelman's kangaroo here). Changes cost money, so they have to pay for themselves.
  • Results must be replicated or they are not implemented (too costly)
  • We don't publish to gain publicity (results become proprietary trade secrets)
  • There is no motivation to exaggerate or make outrageous claims (you will lose your job if you are wrong)

noetsi

Fortran must die
I doubt statisticians agree on this one way or the other. Academics rarely do. :p I also doubt they have any easy way to know what they thing.

The problem with p values is that you can have a significant p value and your effect size be meaningless. I have seen people judge the value of something purely by which p value is lower. At work people, who don't have a statistical background, treat statistical significance as critical, if it is significant than they see it as important and if it is not they don't. Despite the fact we have populations.