Newbie with a question

:wave: Greetings from the Heartland! I'm a doc student with enough math savvy to put on the head of a pin. STATS is required and passing it, mandatory. My question right now is probably a simple one, but it's driving me nuts. The question on my homework is this:

Test administered to measure eye-hand coordination. Mean is 65, SD is 8. What percentage of scores is above 75? What percentage of scores is between 43 and 73?

Do I have to calculate the Z score first? Then what? My brain is locking up on this one. Of course being 54 probably isn't helping any. :shakehead

Thanks for any easy to remember tips or tricks you might have.

Signed,
The Queen of Styrene

Greetings! I'll attempt an answer:

Yes, I think you have to assume the data is normally distributed. Because we'll be needing to calculate areas under the normal distribution probability curve, we'd better change everything to Z scores so we can use the standard tables.

Remember that to change a raw score into a Z score, we first subtract the mean from the raw score and then divide by the SD.

The z score of 75 is then 1.25, that of 43 is -2.75 and that of 73 is 1. This means that the raw score 75 is 1.25 standard deviations above the mean, 43 is 2.75 standard deviations below the mean etc.

Now we have to calculate areas under the standard normal curve (standard in that the mean is 0 and the SD is 1). I assume you have a method for doing this using tables or a calculator or something similar.