One-tail test for research

Hello,
I am new to research metholologies and statistical testing. Currently, I am involved in the data analysis section of research. My instructor wants me to discuss the application of a one-tail test to my research. I am studying the effect of technology training on teachers' computer self-efficacy and technology practices. The hypothesis is H01: There is no statistically significant relationship between technology training and teachers’ perceptions of computer self-efficacy (PCSE), current instructional practices (CIP), level of technology implementation (LoTi), and personal computer use (PCU).
The alternative hypothesis is, Ha1: There is a positive statistically significant relationship between technology training and teachers’ perceptions of computer self-efficacy (PCSE), current instructional practices (CIP), level of technology implementation (LoTi), and personal computer use (PCU). With a limited understanding of statistics, I need to understand the one-tail test and its application to my study. Any help will be much appreciated.

CB

Super Moderator
Hi there, welcome.

First comment: the phrase "statistically significant" shouldn't really appear in your framing of H0 and H1. H0 and H1 are specific statements about a population. The significance of relationships found in your sample may allow you to make inferences about the population of interest.

So for a one-tailed test your hypotheses might be that in the population of interest:

H0: The correlation between technology training and teachers’ perceptions of computer self-efficacy (PCSE) is zero
H1: The correlation between technology training and teachers’ perceptions of computer self-efficacy (PCSE) is greater than zero

You may need to specify H0 and H1 for each relationship that you're going to look at. Keep a couple of things in mind: