PhD – Power calculation

Hi all, first post, be gentle.

Im doing a PhD (just starting out) and writing my Project Approval Form.

As part of that, my Prof wrote on a draft “n=?”

Now, out of my four research objectives, only really one has quant in it.

I am developing a test for novice users, so one of my objectives will be to test the novice users against the expert users and look at their levels of agreement.
This is the only place where I can see the need for “n=?” i.e. how many novice and experts need to agree to make it powerful enough to have any meaning.

The thing is…I don’t have a hyp. It’s not a question with a hyp and a null.

I think the power calculation requires a hyp and null? Do I make the hyp up (i.e. there will be agreement between, with the null being there will be no agreement?)
I am lost.

Anyone help?:cool:

As in what type of data?

Essentially, I want to see if two groups (experts and novice) give the same scores to participants who complete a movement screen.

The scores for the screes will probably be based on a criteria of 1= fail, 2= minor faults, 3= no faults.

These screens are already out there in lit. However, as I'm wanting to get end user buy-in, part of my research is using end users to help select and/or modify the published screens.. And as such, I don't know what screens I'm using yet and thus I don't know what type of data (ordinal, scale etc) i will be comparing.

That makes sense?

obh

Hi Burnsie,

It doesn't really matter what will you check exactly ...what about the following null hypothesis:
H0: No different between experts and novice
H1: There is a different
(or maybe one tail instead ...)

So you are going to compare 2 groups of users, on several tasks?
how many tasks approximately?

And the mark on each task will be: 1= fail, 2= minor faults, 3= no faults.
Is it possible to give more values like 1 to 5?

Hi Burnsie,

It doesn't really matter what will you check exactly ...what about the following null hypothesis: