Physicist turning to statistics?

Hi, I have a PhD in physics and I have decided I do not want to continue down the path of physics. So I am looking at alternatives and I think it would be very interesting to be doing statistics. Unfortunately, I never had any formal classes in stats, but most of my physics research has involved doing statistics-related things, like statistical mechanics and quantum mechanics (which is all about probability distributions). I've also done a fair amount of Monte Carlo simulations.

I was wondering if anyone has any tips on how to sell myself in statistics. Also, what are the best ways to search for jobs in stats? Are they more common in certain geographical areas?

Link

Ninja say what!?!
Wow. I find it surprising that you have a PhD in physics (a hard field) and not only want to get out of it, but into statistics (another hard field).

Are you planning on applying to the PhD program in Statistics? I worry that it'll be extremely difficult for you since you do not have formal classes in stats. I have a background and I still struggle ... especially when it comes to advanced theory and proofs (man I hate those).

A good way to get jobs in any field (IMO) is to join professional organizations. You could try universities too, since they have lots of companies trying to recruit there. You could also do what I'm doing (take on more than you think you can handle and hope for the best ... if you do handle it well then you'll be viewed as a commodity in the work force).

No, I'm not planning on going back to school. I've had enough of school and I would like to get on with my life, which means having a job which pays a decent enough salary that I can buy a house, etc.

So what is it that you're doing? Can you talk about that a little more?

Edit: I should also mention, I'm currently a postdoc. I went to a career fair at my university, but there weren't any companies looking for anything to do with statistics.