Please help! Running ANOVA with skewed data in some conditions

ninja

Hi there, I really hope you can help. I've been looking on a number of forums and have had no luck. Also have been looking through some of the threads here and am feeling more optimistic that someone can help me!

I'm a PhD student, in my final 8 weeks so am desperate for some help!

I'm planning to run a 3 x 2 ANOVA on some of my data. The DV (correct responses) is skewed in about half of the conditions. I transformed those conditions using Log10, adding a constant of 1 (because the data includes 0 values). Should I also transform the rest of the condition's data? I am thinking that by adding the constant I will be exaggerating any differences if I don't transform the rest, or at least add + 1 to all conditions?

Also, when I've transformed the outcomes, some are still marginally out of range for skew (1.165). Could I still proceed and argue that it is not THAT skewed?

I've seen some people suggesting plotting the Q-Q values for the residuals, but I don't know how to do that. If I need to do this, does anyone know how? Also, is there a way to do this in one go so I can see if the residuals are normally distributed?

I really hope that you can help me! I have 6 papers to write up all following a similar format, so am just trying to make sure I am doing it right before I analyse and write up the rest of the results sections.

Karabiner

TS Contributor
I'm planning to run a 3 x 2 ANOVA on some of my data. The DV (correct responses) is skewed in about half of the conditions.
Could you tell us a bit more? What is the topic of the research,
what are these factors, is this an experimental study or an
observational study, how large is the sample size, what
was actually measured, and in which range do we find the
responses?
Should I also transform the rest of the condition's data?
Yes, of course. You cannot transform the dependent variable
just in some conditions and leave the rest as is. You have to