Principal Component Analysis: What determines sign of variable loading?

Yoshi

Hi,

I have a question about how the signs of variable loadings on a component (factor) are determined in the PCA.

I am studying anxiety/fear response in animals.

I tested a group of animals by showing a negative stimulus and measuring their behavioural responses to the stimulus.
The measured variables are:
1) Distance an animal kept from the stimulus.
2) Locomotion of an animal
3) Number of vocalization A
4) Number of vocalization B

I have run Principal Component Analysis with all the variables using SPSS.
2 components came up to have eigenvalue bigger than 1.0.
The rotated component matrix shows that Distance and Locomotion are highly loaded to the 1st component, and the vocalizations are highly loaded to the 2nd component.
The loading score for the distance is -.938 and the one for the locomotion is .884. And, the loading scores for the vocalizations are .893 and .864 respectively.

Then, I tested another group of animals with the same test and measured the same variables.
The PCA in this group came up with the similar result with the first group (we expected them to be similar).
Only difference was the signs of variable loading scores.
In the second analysis, for the 1st component, the loading scores of the distance was .933 and the locomotion was -.933. For the 2nd component, the scores for the vocalization were .921 abd .916.

So, in the first group I have negative score for the distance and positve score for the locomotion. In the second group, I have positive score for the distance and negative score for the locomotion.

In terms of having the opposite signs, the results make sense since the animal that keep wider distance is probably more scared and does not move. However, I do not understand how the sign (negative/positive) is determined in the PCA.
The two groups are supposed to be similar and they are except for the signs.
Is it because how the rotation happened?