Problem with small amount of cases

Cai

Hi

New here, and fairly new with statistics.

I have a problem with too few cases, but more than enough variables and observations. I have no background in statstics, but chose to use it as method in my dissertation because I wanted to learn new stuff.

I have annual quantitative data from comparable and uniform 21 industrial production lines from the same multinational company including profitability (2 indicators 1998-2006), environmental impact (8 indicators 2000-2006), occupational health and safety (3 indicators 2000-2006), and two sets of employee opinion surveys (EOS) conducted in 2001 and 2004. The EOS data is complete for the multinational company data originates from with over 10 000 respondents on around 100 questions each time. I have isolated the people working on the production lines and summarized their answer into one per production line.

The thought is (was?) to run multiple regression to see what connections there might be. But MR needs way less variables and way more cases, according to all standard sources.

What should I do?

CB

Super Moderator
The thought is (was?) to run multiple regression to see what connections there might be.
You kinda need to have a clearer idea of what you're actually looking for than this before you can select an analysis :p What are you actually trying to find out?

Cai

What I try to do

What I try to find an answer to is if there is any possible correlation between corporate social & environmental performance (CSEP) and corporate financial performance (CFP), either way. Earlier research is inconclusive though leaning towards CSEP->CFP, and has not had the kind of precise data available that I got my hands on.

Need more specifics, sorry