proc gen mode diagnostics I don't understand.

noetsi

Fortran must die
I am not used to working with proc gen mode. It generates two sets of diagnostics of the residuals. One looks fine, the other may have a pattern in it. I don't know why I am getting two totally different sets of diagnostics, and which I should use. There are no comments other than what I show below.

Attachments

noetsi

Fortran must die
I am not sure which one you mean, but do you know which is the correct set of diagnostics hlsmith. I can't figure this out at all.

This is payment, and we get a small number of people who earn huge amounts of money while most get very little. I tend to assume with 20 thousand cases one outlier won't matter much. Look at the DFBETA's this seems to be confirmed.

Which diagnostics do you look at in proc genmode for linear regression?

noetsi

Fortran must die
I think the plots all generates strange plots. Since i am new to genmod, these residual plots suggest no violation of the regression to me. But I wanted a second opinion.

Attachments

noetsi

Fortran must die
Ok I have another question.

I am using PROC Genmode. 1 means you are in the group 0 you are not in the second column (please ignore the third column). I interpret this to mean that 16 -18 earn more than the excluded group which is 25-44 controlling for other variables. But that is hard to believe given what we know of our organizations and the descriptives. The code is really long so I did not include it. It is an interval response variable (income).

1615840403507.png

hlsmith

Less is more. Stay pure. Stay poor.
It is hard to ignore the third column! The indicators aren't clear given the above table. What I usually do is get the estimates from the model then make sure i can repeat them in the estimate statement, then tailor those to my question or reference groups of interest. It may help to show more of the output.

noetsi

Fortran must die