Reaction times analysis with Mixed Models

Hi,

I want to use Mixed Models for interpreting reaction times, instead of ANOVA repeated measures with the mean for each subject/condition.

I have several subjects, condition (2 levels) and time delay (6 levels). Each subject obtained 20 reactions times (RTs) for each time delay in the two condition.

Could someone explain to me how to analize the data using Mixed Model, thus using each reaction times for the analysis, and not only the mean per condition as we usually do with classical ANOVA?

I both SPSS or Jamovi, not programming software like R beacuase I have no experience with it.

hlsmith

Not a robit
It is usually pretty straight forward. Things to consider that deviate the approach is time vary confounding or cross-level interactions, otherwise you select your outcome and covariates like normal regression and list your clustering (grouping variable, e.g., persons ID). Next you also list whether any of the terms (covariates) are at the individual grouping level. I haven't used SPSS for this, but I bet they have some resources. Multilevel models are definitely preferred over repeated measures ANOVA.

I would guess that reaction times would be a skewed distribution. So maybe a gamma distribution fits. Or maybe a lognormal distribution. Maybe they don't have that on the standard software. Then try to take the logarithm (so that data transforms from the lognormal to the normal distribution).

hlsmith

Not a robit