Regression modeling

Hello everyone, I am a student in agricultural genetic engineering, and I am working on presenting a research paper about the genetic relationship between efficiency of feed intake and diseases.
This paper presents a lot of statistical information which is quite hard for me to process quickly, so I would like to post a quote from the paper regarding regression analysis, if anyone can explain it to me, it will be of great help, the quote is: "The BCS (Body Condition Score) on a scale of 1 (emaciated) to 5 (obese) was assessed monthly by different scorers. Before calculating phenotypes for weekly REI (Residual Energy Intake), we predicted weekly cow individual BCS values. Therefore, we used random regression modeling, which is a useful prediction technique to fill up weeks without actual observations to increase the number of observations"
I would like to understand what is meant by "to fill up weeks without actual observations to increase the number of observations"
I look forward for your replies.

Karabiner

TS Contributor
Could you post the reference, or even a link to that paper?
It looks like it refers to some missing data imputation technique,
but maybe they just mean "we used a multilevel random effects
model where observations are 'nested' within cows and does
not require that a cow has no missing observations".

With kind regards

Karabiner

Karabiner

TS Contributor
I have no access to this, I'm afraid. Maybe they added some more information on multilevel "random effects model" in their paper?

I have no access to this, I'm afraid. Maybe they added some more information on multilevel "random effects model" in their paper?