Regression with cointegrated time series data

Hello,

I am studying a predator-prey relationships using field data collected biannually over 5 years. For example, here is some abundance data:

pred,prey

I wish to estimate the numerical response (coefficient of linear regression predator ~ prey). I am using R for statistical computing:

I checked the cross-correlation, and there is no lag:

Autocorrelations of series predXprey, by lag
-3 -2 -1 0 1 2 3
0.121 0.278 0.599 0.925 0.463 0.468 0.131

Both series are autocorrelated and partial acf suggested first-order:

Autocorrelations of series pred, by lag

0 1 2 3 4 5
1.000 0.489 0.396 0.074 -0.288 -0.293

Durbin-Watson test

data: pred ~ 1
DW = 0.8386, p-value = 0.01694
alternative hypothesis: true autocorrelation is greater than 0

Autocorrelations of series prey, by lag

0 1 2 3 4 5
1.000 0.502 0.347 0.146 -0.207 -0.331

Durbin-Watson test

data: prey ~ 1
DW = 0.7899, p-value = 0.01272
alternative hypothesis: true autocorrelation is greater than 0

Here's the fitted model:

Call:
lm(formula = pred ~ prey, data = mydata)

Residuals:
Min 1Q Median 3Q Max
-7.6614 -1.6837 -0.8583 2.2727 6.8586

Coefficients:
Estimate Std. Error t value Pr(>|t|)
(Intercept) 23.6214 2.1015 11.240 3.52e-06 ***
prey 1.4571 0.2116 6.885 0.000126 ***

Residual standard error: 4.534 on 8 degrees of freedom
Multiple R-squared: 0.8556, Adjusted R-squared: 0.8376
F-statistic: 47.4 on 1 and 8 DF, p-value: 0.0001264

There was no autocorrelation in the linear model residuals, although it is not easy to estimate autocorrelation from such short time series. I could fit a generalised least squares model with AR(1) errors, but I don't think it is required.

Autocorrelations of series model$residuals, by lag

0 1 2 3 4 5
1.000 -0.435 0.018 -0.239 0.279 -0.067

Durbin-Watson test

data: model
DW = 2.8667, p-value = 0.09089
alternative hypothesis: true autocorrelation is less than 0