Relationship Between Increasing Mean and Standard Deviation

Greetings, we sampled some fungal populations from an agricultural field. Our sample size is 24, and we sampled six plots. We noticed the standard deviation of our samples increases along with the mean, which we did not expect. What might this suggest about our data, and does anyone have ideas for how we might follow up on this? Thanks

I'm not sure why you would find it surprising that s.d. goes up as mean goes up. Imagine an extreme case, where your sample mean is 100 times larger than the previous one, but the s.d was the same. That would indicate extremely low variation, which is rare in the real world. So your results seem normal to me (I'm not an expert).

If I have exam results graded on a scale of 0 to 10 and the standard deviation is 3 and the mean a 6, then if I would have graded the results on a scale of 0 to 100 the standard deviation would be 30 and the mean 60. Sometimes the coefficient of variation is used to compare two standard deviations. It is simply the standard deviation divided by the mean.

Karabiner

TS Contributor
Greetings, we sampled some fungal populations from an agricultural field. Our sample size is 24, and we sampled six plots. We noticed the standard deviation of our samples increases along with the mean, which we did not expect. What might this suggest about our data, and does anyone have ideas for how we might follow up on this? Thanks
What is the topic and the research question here, and
what did you actually measure as dependent variable?
Moreover, it is not quite clear to me what you mean by
six plots. Did you measure your DV at 6 different time
points?

With kind regards

K.

rogojel

TS Contributor
We noticed the standard deviation of our samples increases along with the mean, which we did not expect. What might this suggest about our data, and does anyone have ideas for how we might follow up on this? Thanks
Hi,