Some help needed regarding how to conduct an external validation study

Hello everyone. Hope you're well.

I'm a second year surgical resident from Pakistan, and I'm hoping to conduct an external validation of a 2016 study conducted in France. I've linked the study below.

https://pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/27329073/

This was them developing the score. I want to conduct an external validation of it.

So my initial questions are:

1. What sample size should I take for my study to get a good result? (and how would I go about this?)
2. What tests do I need to conduct for this external validation?
3. How do I run those tests? (all I'm familiar with is entering data in SPSS and running some very basic cross-tab stuff)

Any help here would be greatly appreciated. Also, please do ask if there's any questions. (I also have a PDF of the original paper)

hlsmith

Less is more. Stay pure. Stay poor.
See if you can post/attached the article - it is behind a paywall and I am too lazy to log-in to access it.

Just a heads up, given the description in the abstract the study seems, meh. Full text version will help to evaluate its methods and see if they presented confidence intervals on the accuracy estimate.

Are you hoping to applied these criteria to your retrospective data and examine its utility? If so, this means your study is based on secondary data - so will you have access to accurate data for the listed covariates? If desired you could also add additional information/predictors of your own. A big question is how common is the outcome they modeled for. If it is rare, their model may be too saturated.

See if you can post/attached the article - it is behind a paywall and I am too lazy to log-in to access it.

Just a heads up, given the description in the abstract the study seems, meh. Full text version will help to evaluate its methods and see if they presented confidence intervals on the accuracy estimate.