Splines

noetsi

Fortran must die
I have several variables that I think have non-linear effects. One way to address that is to generate splines. But as far as I can tell these do not generate anything like a slope. How do you interpret splines in terms of its impact on the DV?

Since I am brand new to this code I wanted to see if I did it correctly. All the class variables are dummies that can not be non-linear.

Code:
proc gampl data=dora.fin plots seed=12345;
CLASS edclo ethd  femaled  SSDIALLOWED  SD
SSIALLOWED  WhiteD ;
model q2wage = spline(inserv) spline(sum_of_tuition) spline(rate)
;

output out=outs;
run;
Following advice I saw I compared the AIC I got with this [non-linear I think or general additive] model to the one I got with proc genmod which does not assume non-linearity the way I ran it. The non-linear proc genmod model had a lower AIC (359317 versus 360676)

Does this mean I should not worry about the non-linear effect in interpreting the interval predictors I suspect are non-linear?

Last edited:

hlsmith

Less is more. Stay pure. Stay poor.
How come the other terms aren't listed in the model? Did it assume they were in there and ran anyways?

I just look at the outputted plots. Please post those. On the plots there should be a "df=" I believe. These will tell you how many ~polynomial like bends in the relationship. Typically, I use my judgement on whether I think there really is a non-linear relationship based on background knowledge and what the plot looks like.

I typically don't find a non-linear relationship and if I do, the variable is usually a confounding term that I don't neccesssarily need an estimate for - I just need to adjust for it. Otherwise, if you truly had a non-linear relationship to interpret, they are kind of tricky to explain beyond using images.

noetsi

Fortran must die
I don't know this proc at all hlsmith. Until you mentioned it I had never heard about it. So I don't know why it did or did not do anything.