Statistics as Magic and Medicine

pmcc

As an aspiring researcher I am externally motivated to achieve a high proficiency in statistics. Having been taught statistics at upper undergraduate and postgraduate level I have learned to appreciate statistics through the use of computers (SPSS and Minitab). However, I was never taught the basics of statistics - for example, how to manually calculate covariance and test functions other than the easier versions of ANOVA and Gosset's t-test.

Although I am usually a fast learner, I have great trouble trying to learn a mathematically dense subject without having understood the fundamentals and the meaning behind it. I often ask myself questions such as: Why does this particular formula do the job? Why do we use n-k-1 and more importantly what does it mean, the degrees of freedom?

Currently, I have enrolled in basic statistics modules at the undergraduate level in order to learn statistics the way I learn best. It takes more time, but without this approach I am afraid that statistics will remain an obscure art or science to me—like magic.

Maybe the reader by now has read between the lines that I have failed one or two statistics modules. Indeed, I had to repeat one module, but I managed to ace the second exam. However, I never got a chance to properly prepare for a more demanding computer based module. As a consequence, I did not graduate with the degree I intended.