Subgroup based on baseline of dependend variable?

Tess

Hello everybody,

I am currently working on a study with heart patients. I have no data yet but am trying to write up my methodology and am currently thinking about how to do the statistics to evaluate my hypothesis. I am a bloody beginner in regards to statistic and would be thankful for any help! So here we go:

The Study Design:

I am performing two tests assessing the functional mobility in patients (outcome measure is the time the patients need to perform a certain task). I measure at baseline before they receive surgery and at four time points after their surgery (day 1, 3 and 5 after surgery, as well as hospital discharge). I want to assess the two tests seperately, because they tests slightly different parts of functional mobility but using the same statistical procedure.

I want to assess two research questions:
1. How does the procedure affect the functional mobility of elderly patients for the duration of their hospital stay and at discharge?
2. To what extent does a high / low functional status pre-surgery impact functional mobility post-surgery in elderly patients?

To answer the first question I wanted to perform a one-way repeated measures ANOVA. I was thinking the functional mobility (or rather the time they need for the test) is the dependend variable and time (the different measurement time points) is the independend variable. But I would appreciate if anybody could confirm this for me.