Syntax - Generate new variable conditional to values of other variables

Hi everyone!

I'm a sociology student and I am a SPSS beginner. I need some help with the syntax, I already looked around but I can't find how to do what I need.
I have a data set that roughly looks as the one in the attached picture. I need to generate a new variable that contains, for each user (ID) the hour and the date only referred to one of the questions.
For example: I want to compute a new variable, TIME_Q1, in which the value is "11.04 1/10/2019"
for the user 1 (ID =1), "15.07 04/09/2019" for the user 2 (ID =2) and so on. Can anyone help me with the syntax?

Also, my DATE variable is nominal and when I run "alter type" to change it into a date, all the values become ".". May it be because in front of the each value there are brackets " (see picture)? This does not happen when I alter the type of the HOUR variable that is nominal and has brackets as well.

Any suggestion is more than welcome!

1599637417586.png

Karabiner

TS Contributor
If the data are sorted as seen in your image, and you need the contents of the first question, then you can use the function aggregate with break variable "id", and you request the first value from variable "question" within each id to be written into the new variable.

What the exact problem with "date" is, I don't know, but you could copy that variable, paste it into a word processor, remove the brackets, and copy&paste it back.

With kind regards

Karabiner

you request the first value from variable "question" within each id to be written into the new variable.
Dear Karabiner,

Thank you very much for your quick answer!
Still I don't understand how to write the second part of the syntax as you are suggesting. Could you please help me to understand?

All the best,

Marla

Karabiner

TS Contributor
You can use the drop-down menue data > aggregate.
You can indicate the break variable there, and which
statistics you want to obtain.

With kind regards