Target Accuracy and Precision

I’m a novice when it comes to applying statistics to practical applications. Sorry if this has been covered in another post somewhere. I compete in competitions where accuracy and precision is compared between two competitors.

My question is...
How many shots at a target are required to determine the accuracy?
What attributes, factors or terms should we be talking about when comparing one competitor’s results (precision) to another?

Some times competitors take 3 shots and brag about how accurate they are. But I know that it’s the repeatability of that group size that really matters. Sometimes 5 shots are taken and some times 10 or 20 are taken.

I know that precision is dependent on the number of shots taken. A 3 shot group that measures .3” is a lot less impressive than a 20 shot .5” group.

#1) Is there a better number of shots that I should use? Should I include a confidence number (or some other attribute) when comparing group sizes with a larger or smaller number of shots used?

#2) What are the attributes of the number of shots taken vs groups size that we should be talking about? I typically shoot 5 shot groups. I feel that 3 is too little and 10 is too much when running tests.

Attachments

I found some info on measuring the Coefficient of Variation. Let me know if this works for my application...

Take measurements of the shots variation from the center of the group. Use that to estimate the standard deviation of distance from center then divide the number of shots by that standard deviation.

Would this be a better calculation...

CV = (Standard Deviation of the shots distance to group center) / (the average shot distance to the group center)

Miner

TS Contributor