Understanding the significance of my logistic regression model

Hi, I'm a doctor and I'm relatively inexperienced with logistic regression but I'm trying to do it for a project.

I have a binary dependent variable (problem occurs or doesn't occur) and am trying to identify risk factors for the problem occurring. Multivariate logistic regression seems to be a standard method for doing this in medicine. I identified the candidate independent variables based on clinical hypotheses and data from other groups. When I plug in the 5 categorical variables and 2 continuous variables in the "binary logistic" function in SPSS, both the model and the variables are non-significant. If I delete variables, the model and one of the variables becomes more significant, but when I pare the model down to 3 variables, the overall significance of the model is still only 0.055. The total number of cases is 120.

Can someone help me with this? It's fairly common in medical papers to have a logistic regression model in which most of the variables are insignificant and only a few are significant. Are those models just not significant overall? Am I not using this method correctly?

hlsmith

Not a robit
You have 120 cases, but what is the breakdown (proportions) between the two outcome groups? What do you plan to do with these results? If you plan to disseminate, you would call it multiple logistic regression not multivariate logistic. Also, feel free to post your model output, so we can see what you are writing about and glean additional details like how many groups are in your categorical variables.

Hi Jennifer.

Additionally

If you have a good theoretical reason to include a variable in the model you shouldn't exclude it only because it is statistically insignificant.