Unsure if I need to transform my data or use a p-value correction for multiple comps.

krts

Hello all,

Right off the bat I'd like to say that I'm pretty new to statistics and am having to employ some for analysing the results of a listening test I conducted for my masters thesis (in Environmental Acoustics), so apologies if I struggle to explain myself clearly!

Essentially, my listening test involved subjects listening to seven different stimuli and adjusting their levels so that they give a perception of equal annoyance relative to a reference stimuli.

So, my results have the adjustment levels (in dB) of 15 participants, for each of the 7 stimuli.

My objective is to find out how combined noise characteristics affect annoyance - i.e if someone adjusts a stimuli with a tone by -3dB and another with an impulsive characteristic by -6bB (against the reference) then how much do they adjust the stimuli that includes both the impulsive and tonal characteristic combined?

This has really glossed over my experiment and some fundamental acoustic concepts that you probably wouldn't need to know especially, but if any more info is needed or you're simply interested please let me know...

I'm using a combination of Matlab and Excel for analysing my results.

After plotting the means and errorbars for 95% confidence (some of which are quite large - I've attached the plot) I performed a one-way ANOVA on all of the results, which showed there was significance somewhere within them with a p-value of 0.010234!

I followed that up with a multcompare analysis in Matlab, (which essentially is performing Tukey's HSD test), which showed no significance between groups (stimuli)! This conflicts what the ANOVA was saying, sort of. Though I have a limited understanding that they're kind of looking at different things - so it is possible!