Using %cutpoint macro in SAS

Hello,

I am trying to find out optimal cut-points for my continuous variable of smoking using an outcome based method. I came across a SAS macro "%cutpoint" being used for this. How ever I have no knowledge of using a macro in SAS. The code is

Code:
%cutpoint(dvar=, endpoint=, data=, trunc=, type=, range=, fe=, plot=plot, ngroups=,
padjust=, zoom=);
as given in the document Finding Optimal Cutpoints for Continuous Covariates
with Binary and Time-to-Event Outcomes

I opened my dataset in SAS (SAS 9.4) and ran the code using the explanation in the above document. But it gave me errors ( (WARNING: Apparent invocation of macro CUTPOINT not resolved. ERROR 180-322: Statement is not valid or it is used out of proper order). After searching on the internet, I come to know that I haven’t called the macro function. I need the program that runs the “cutpoint” macro and run it in SAS. Then call the macro. But I do not know how to perform these steps.

Can anyone please help with these steps.
Thanks

hlsmith

Not a robit
Well I skimmed the article (pretty good) and was going to present an example, but I have not found a copy of the actual macro "cutpoint"? Do you have the macro code, not just the call portion from above?

I also found another post here on this, but I believe I reference a macro based on the macro, so it isn't at the location I listed (http://www.talkstats.com/showthread.php/54672-Finding-Optimal-Cutpoints-for-Continuous-Covariates-with-Time-to-Event-Outcomes?highlight=%25cutpoint).

It looks like you were interested in cutpoint not findcut, which is partially presented here: http://jco.ascopubs.org/content/sup...9.26.4325.DC1/Data_Supplement_materials_2.pdf

Let me know your thoughts!

Hi hlsmith,
Thakyou very much for looking into this. I am actually a Stata user and use SAS only occassionally. So I had no idea what to do. or what the repository does.