Want to be researcher- needs help

Hello all!

I am currently designing my first research project and am confused on what to do after I have my data. I have a basic understanding of Stats, but need direction.

I am a music therapist and am designing a research project examining the effect of music to reduce children's anxiety before medical procedures. There is one dependent variable (anxiety level) and one independent variable (type of music used. Where my question comes in, is I have two different measures of my dependent variable ( self-reported vs observed). I am confused as to what test would be the best to run to accurately show the effectiveness of the music with the two measures combined and then separately as well.

Any help or guidance you can give me would be greatly appreciated!

Thanks!!

If you have any questions, please let me know!

My population is Children ages 5-10 who are entering a dentist office prior to a medical procedure. I am hoping to have 30 participants.

Independent Variable-

The independent variable is level of engagement with the music. The children will experience one of three conditions; passive listening, active listening or instrument play.

Dependent Variables- These will measure the amount of anxiety in the children.

The Self-Reported will be one number when the data is taken. This scale will be given pre and post the independent variable. The children answer a series of questions then based on a given key the total is calculated.

The same is for the observed data based on a video recording. It will be taken pre and post the independent variable and when calculated will be one singular number.

Purpose statement and research questions: