Warning "The estimated weights for the factor scores are probably incorrect" in fa function (psych)

Dear all,

I recently posted this question in another website, reposting it here in case I get any answers. I'm relatively new to this, so maybe I don't include all the information necessary in order to solve this, or I should post it in another forum - please let me know in that case.

Our problem is the following:
We are trying to run an exploratory factorial analysis (EFA) using fa function from psych v2.0.12. We are using:

Code:
efa <- fa(r, nfactors=3, fm="ols", rotate=”promax”, cor="mixed", n.obs = 334, correct = 0)
where r is a matrix of mixed correlations obtained from a dataset of 334 subjects (n.obs=334), with 2 continuous and 12 polytomous variables (7 of them with 7 levels, and 5 with 5) using mixedCor, and the number of factors nfactors=3 is set to the number recommended by a parallel analysis using fa.parallel function.
When carrying out the EFA, we get the following warning:
The estimated weights for the factor scores are probably incorrect. Try a different factor score estimation method
We tried using different methods such as fm="minres", but we are still getting the same warning.

However, when checking the reliability of the obtained result, the model explains a relevant amount of variance (0.86), KMO verifies the sampling adequacy (KMO=.92), all the KMO values for the individual items are >.85, Bartlett’s test for sphericity [χ2(91)=15836.85 p<0.001] indicates that correlations between our variables are sufficiently large for factor analysis, and our alpha is of 0.97. Is obtaining good results on these indexes enough for us to trust the EFA results and ignore the warning?

If not, what could the warning indicate? Is there any way to solve this?

Thanks in advance,

Lidón

spunky

Can't make spagetti
Did you get any more warnings with this or was it the only one it gave you? Something about Heywood cases or loadings greater than 1?