Web Analyst: Been a While Since I Touched Stats

Hey everyone,

I joined up to this site looking to get some advice. I have been doing web analytics for just over 2 years now. I have an accounting degree, and I come from a corporate finance background. In my schooling, I took some stats classes. I think I went a tad farther statistically than most Business school undergrads I actually learned the proofs behind basic statistics.

But that was about 7 years ago, and I need a refresher. Also, I need to learn some new techniques, because a lot of what I learned won't apply (I think) to what we measure on a web site. Would anyone here be able to direct me to resources for these two issues:

1. A quick refresher on stats. I think it will come back quick...
2. I need to know how to analyze data that can't go below zero: tool, method, the whole thing.

Thanks in advance to anyone that can help. :tup:

well....that is a very difficult question. I hope you were not actually looking for a simple response :)

Tell us more about the type of analysis, data, experiments you run and maybe we can help more.

For example, data that does not go below zero...does this mean count data that includes zeros? Is it continuous data? What types of processess generates the data - data mining (observational) or experimental? Maybe if count data, then poisson and negative binomial regression (and their respective zero inflated versions) is what you need. If continuous, that would suggest generalized linear models like a gamma dist and log link (if it does not inlcude zero). Maybe categorical data is what you maninly have.....

well....that is a very difficult question. I hope you were not actually looking for a simple response :)

Tell us more about the type of analysis, data, experiments you run and maybe we can help more.