What are the downfalls of selecting most parsimonious model using AIC?

Jbel

Hi all, I am rather new to statistics, but I am reviewing a paper that applies the most parsimonious model for logistic regression using Akaike’s Information Criterion. It is a clinical study in ~200 patients and covariates assessed are mostly categorical variables.

Results are opposite of what one would expect on a biological basis and I believe it is due to a number of confounding variables that were not included in the final model using the AIC method and were deemed not significant. However, although these variables are excluded statistically, there is a strong theoretical basis to have included at least some of them. For example, as the outcome is disease activity and one group had more patients on high efficacy therapy to prevent disease activity it seems logical to include this variable despite its statistical significance.

Is this method appropriate with a small sample size and categorical variables (with some that are broken into up to 6 categories)? And are there any other downfalls based on this method, which might explain these opposite results? I appreciate any feedback, Thanks!

staassis

When the sample size converges to infinity (10,000s in practice), the verdict of AIC converges to the truth. So AIC is the right tool to use in medium-sized and large samples. In small samples, however, AIC tends to bee too generous. It chooses models which are somewhat bigger than the optimum. The models contain predictors they should not contain.

In small samples, BIC (Bayesian Information Criterion) works better than AIC (on average). In your case it is likely to suggest removing even more variables that you love so much.