What is better: higher number of participants or identical participants?

Dear all,

I am a language teacher and currently conducting a research project into vocabulary acquisition. For this project, I had a setup of 1 pre-test, followed by treatment sessions and 3 post-tests (immediate, 10-day and 2-months). I am interested in seeing the performance in vocabulary acquisition and retention over the three post-tests for experimental and control groups who received different treatment.

The same participants took part in all tests and treatment (n=68), but for the last post-test, six participants were absent (n=62). In my opinion it is better to report and work with means, etc. of the 68 participants where possible (because a higher number of observations gives more reliable results), and the lower where necessary (i.e. in test 3). But I wonder if it is permissible to compare results based on different participants like this or if I sould discard the results of the six participants who missed post-test 3 and only use the results of the 62 throughout the study (ie. for post tests 1 to 3). Can anyone advise? Many thanks!

Analysis

Basically, post-test scores under experimental treatment are compared to post-test scores under control treatment. After testing for significance between experimental and control scores on each test (using a t-test, which showed significant results across all tests), I calculated the effect size (mean difference and Hedges' d) for all post-tests and the confidence intervals for d.

Since I am interested in the amount of forgetting (i.e. how much the scores fall under each condition from post-test 1 to post-test 3), I would like to be able to compare d across post-tests (it actually gets bigger). I also tested the significance of results under each treatment condition over the 3 post-tests and found that no significant changes occured between post-test 1 and post-test 2, but between post-test 1 and 3 and 2 and 3, significant changes did occur.