Which test should I use?

Hello all,

I am a novice in statistics so I hope I explain my question so that you understand, here goes.

I have a dataset of archaeological sites that are distributed over a large area. I divided this area into regions according to vegetation characteristics. I've summarized the sites' distributions in the different regions and now I want to compare those results with the natural distribution. Put differently, I want to know whether sites are distributed randomly or according to environmental preferences (ex. in green areas rather than deserts)?

Hope everything is clear
Thanks for your help

Karabiner

TS Contributor
How many sites are there, and how many areas? Home many different types of areas are there? Home many criteria did you use to identify the type of area, and were the criteria quantitative or categorical? Thor areas are of different sitze, I suppose?

With kind regards

Karabiner

gianmarco

TS Contributor
Hello,
I do not know what type of data you have, are you working with some GIS software? Do you have GIS data? For instance, a geometry representing your areas, and a geometry representing your sites?

Assuming that you have the above type of data, and assuming that your regions completely cover your study area (with no gap in-between), you may want to test if the distribution of points within your set of polygons (totally covering the study area) can be considered random, or if the observed points count in each polygon is larger or smaller than expected.