ANOVA and mediation- could someone CHECK over this with me? Help gratefully received

Hi,
I really hope someone could help me out. I'm having a crisis of confidence. I have a PhD in psychology but it's been a while since I did "proper" stats analysis. I would be super grateful if someone could have a look over a completed ANOVA and mediation analysis (simple mediation - dichotomous IV, one M). I'm just not convinced I have reported this correctly and would really appreciate some advice from a generous, lovely person who is more expert than I in these matters!

Please get in touch - feeling a bit stuck so help appreciated.

Thanking you in advance
Faith

Re: ANOVA and mediation- could someone CHECK over this with me? Help gratefully recei

It's a 2x2 full factorial ANOVA and a starter mediation - but it's exciting data with intriguing results so please do get in touch.

spunky

Can't make spagetti
Re: ANOVA and mediation- could someone CHECK over this with me? Help gratefully recei

uhm... maybe you can post it on here for everyone to see so we can all chip in and help?

Binka

Ok thanks - So there are a couple of ANOVAs as I have some different "outcome" variables. I'm not sure if I'm interpreting the results properly.

For example - here is the one for a depression outcome -
A 2 by 2 full-factorial ANOVA was conducted with HIV group and gender entered as independent variables for depression as the dependent variable. This analysis revealed that the main effects of HIV group (F(1,393)=20.92, p=0.00001, partial ƞ²=0.05) and gender (F(1,393)=8.083, p=0.00470, partial ƞ²=0.02) were significant. The interaction between HIV group and gender was not significant (F(1,393)=2.210, p=0.13793). Depression scores were lower in those who had HIV and lower in women. The effects (shown by partial ƞ²) are small: only 5% of the variance in depression is attributable to the influence of HIV group and 2% attributable to gender