best test for this non-normal distribution?

Hello!

I've recently been working on a report for some research I conducted in september and I've run into a bit of a problem during the analysis as I am relatively new to stats.:shakehead I would really appreciate any help anyone could provide! Thank you! :eek:

The scenario:

I'm looking to see if the height above the low water mark and the width of crabs. Fundamentally: 2 continuous variables which are not normally distributed when plotted on a scatter graph or transformed with the appropriate equations. I then looked into an appropriate non-parametric test (I have been taught the mann-whitney, Kruskal wallace and wilcoxon) which due to the continuous nature of the data could not be applied.

I haven't been taught spearmans rank but is that appropriate? and can I perform a GLM even if the data is non parametric?

I'm sorry if I'm asking a silly question, I would really appreciate your pity all the same haha!

Thanks again,

Laura

terzi

TS Contributor
Hi Laura,

Sadly, I didn't quite understand what kind of results you need. If you try to calculate correlations, you can use either Spearman's or Kendall's correlation coefficients, since none of them require normality on the variables. Spearman's correlation is usually more common since it is just the pearson correlation calculated on the ranks:

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Spearman_correlation

You can also use general linear models, since these do not require normality in the variables, only in the residuals. Still, the best analysis will depend on your hypothesis or research inquiries. Hope to be helpful

thank you terzi! :)

Sorry, I didn't explain myself very well, I've been revising all holiday so my brain is a little dead!