cox regression v. kaplan-meier

hi everyone! thanks in advance for your help!

i'm studying whether the presence of high v. low hormone levels (of several different hormones) affects survival - i assume that i am to use kaplan-meier to analyze the data rather than cox regression.

i am also not sure how to get SPSS to report whether the difference in survival is significant.

thanks!!!

Hi cayetano,

Look for the log-rank test when creating the KM curves. That will test for a difference between hormone groups. You can also create a Cox proportional hazards model with hormone level as the only independent variable. If the hazard ratio is significantly different than 1, then you can say there is a difference in survival between groups. The hazard ratio will point to which group is more likely to have an event (if <1, then the reference group is more likely...>1, then the comparative group). I'm not familiar enough with SPSS to guide you in either method, but I would bet SPSS has some examples you can replicate.

Good luck!

Shavi

By Definition: Whereas the Kaplan-Meier method with log-rank test is useful for comparing survival curves in two or more groups, Cox proportional-hazards regression allows analyzing the effect of several risk factors on survival.

You can use K-M statistics to find the association between hormones level and survival.

From the menus choose:

Analyze
Survival
Kaplan-Meier...

and follow the instructions. you can also select help in this window to see the details about data, assumptions and procedures.

Output: Select log rank test from "Compare factors" tab and survival plot from "options" tab. Log rank test p-value can define the association and you can see the pattern of survival for hormone levels from the survival plot.