Discussing a model design

I am a software developer and like stats but no professional so I would like your opinon on how to build a concrete statistical model
the goal is to understand what are the most eaten foods in Austria
I would like to know what you think of my approach: I go to a supermarket and observe the cash desk for an hour and record every food that has been bought
this is my sample
the population is the overall consumption of items per food. e.g. 23000 liters of coca-cola, 600000 apples
is this a wise design? do I need to record more?
in the end i want to know the 30-percentile of the most eaten foods
How would you do it?

Dason

Ambassador to the humans
That design actually only gives you a sample size of 1 - which really restricts the ability to inference. There is no randomization and if you're hoping to generalize to all of Austria then visiting a single supermarket isn't going to cut it.

I'm also a little confused by what you mean by the "30-percentile of the most eaten foods".

I think that a supermarket is already optimized statistically, the shelf space costs and you have to decide what products you are putting in. Would it be better to sample the shelves to because they represent already the truth about Austrian taste?
If I go for sampling more than one supermarket how much would I need to get the accuracy required for my mission?
My mission restated: "30-percentile of the most eaten foods" I mean the the 30 percent most eaten food items in Austria. It's called the 70% percentile I think.

thank you!

Dason

Ambassador to the humans
You most definitely need more than one supermarket. Otherwise all you're getting is a small sample from a single supermarket on a single day. Does that supermarket even carry all of the food items in Austria? Probably not. Do the people that visit that one particular supermarket really reflect a random sample of everybody in Austria? My guess is no - there is probably some community effect.