Regression Coefficient Help

husky

Hello,

Thanks in advance for the help everyone, I'm new to this site and I really appreciate it.

I am currently working on some research and have begun to evaluate my results. I have several multiple regressions and need help discussing the regression coefficients. The difficulty I am having is that the two independent variables are different units (and I'm somewhat new to analyzing regressions). One is in dollars (x1 - e.g. $5.20) and the other is percent (x2 - e.g. 5.2%). The dependent variable is also in percent. If I come up with a regression output of Y= 0.068X1 + 1.115x2 + b what effects on my dependent variable do each of these independent variables have for each unit increase in the independent variable? So if I increase X1 by one unit, is the average increase in Y 6.8% or .068% or neither? And does a one unit increase in X1 mean one cent or one dollar? Same question with x2 which is a percentage.

Thank you so much for the help, I look forward to seeing what you have to say!

hlsmith

Less is more. Stay pure. Stay poor.
For clarification, you are conducting linear regression, correct? What program are you using, I ask because you should also be able to submit estimate states, where you can play around with the values of X1 and X2 and see the effects on generated Ys.

To my understanding, a 1 unit increase in X1 should result in a 0.068 increase in Y, but we may need more information from you to better interpret. In particular, how are your Ys formatted, (e.g., 36% or 0.36, with our without the leading zero and decimal)? Also, can you provide a little more detail on the context and what these variables represent - this helps put interpretations into understandable words and whether they make practical sense.

husky