Spearman's correlation: a continuous with a binary variable

Hi everyone. I'm pretty new to statistics so sorry for the dummy question :eek:

I need some nonparametric statistics to correlate a binary variable with a continuous one. Binary variable is yes or no.
For instance:
- one variable is a blood test score (ranging from 0 to 100);
- the other variable is to say if a patient suffer from a specific disease, so it's a yes or no variable.
I want to find out if high test scores correlate with the fact of having a certain disease.

I have to use nonparametric statistics.

Is there any way I can use Spearman's correlation to do this?
Is it ok to use 1 = yes and 0 = no, so as to have a sort of rank?
Yes/no looks like something nominal and I know variables should be at least ordinal in a Spearman's Correlation.

Thanks a lot for your help!

:)

Karabiner

TS Contributor
I need some nonparametric statistics to correlate a binary variable with a continuous one.
What is your exact research question? Is it really necessary
to calculate a correlation coefficient?

I have to use nonparametric statistics.
What is the reason for that? And do you have to perform
a test of significance, not just calculation of a correlation
coefficient?
Is there any way I can use Spearman's correlation to do this?
IIRC Somer's D can be used for correlating a binary with
a rank ordered variable.

With kind regards

K.

Thank you Karabiner :)

What is your exact research question? Is it really necessary
to calculate a correlation coefficient?
Well I guess so. I need to know if the test score is high for those who are sick.
I use it together with Chi square, Goodman Gamma and U Mann-Withney. All the tests confirming the association.

What is the reason for that? And do you have to perform
a test of significance, not just calculation of a correlation
coefficient?
My data is not normally distributed and relation is probably not linear.