Stats Novice need help!

Hello all,

I am in search of some guidance and direction. I work in the field of health and safety risk, forgive me if I sound completely uneducated in the subject of stats, because I am.

I am looking for some statistical methods to provide my work some predictive analysis on health and safety risks... So if I put it in lay terms, I want to look at things such as historical incident and injury statistics and other forms of subjective data like risk assessments on a heat map to provide some kind of prediction data to inform the leaders of what "could" be coming.

So I am not after anyone to teach me the "how" just some suggestions that I can go away and learn on my own.

e.g. "Use Murphy's statistical law of screw ups - it provides you a way to predict non numerical and subjective data outcomes"

Any ideas is much appreciated!
M

hlsmith

Less is more. Stay pure. Stay poor.
The first thing to always do is visualize your data and look at descriptive stats. Then start reading entry level epidemiology then biostatistics books. Also read relevant journal article on the context/content you are interested in to learn how others conduct similar initiatives.

Thanks for that!
I have just started watching about 3 hours of biostatistics. Very helpful!

Is there any methods or suggestions for handling data that isn't quantifiable?

For example in my situation if I'm looking at data of incidents I can see how many "forklift" incidents have happened over a period. But I would like to analyse the severity and that is measured by non numerical values... first aid treatment, medical treatment, permanent disability, fatality... terms like that...

So I could have 12 first aid forklift incidents.. 25 medical treatment... 3 perm disability and 1 fatality... if I wanted to look at the probability would I assign each a numerical value? And how would I scale it? Is fatality 2x permanent disability?

Thoughts?

Karabiner

TS Contributor