• Ubuntu

Votes: 1 50.0%
  • Other. Please explain

Votes: 1 50.0%

• Total voters
  • Poll closed .

bugman

Super Moderator
:mad: I'm done with windows. I 'm serving it with divorce papers. We are through.

Is there any reason I should not convert to Ubuntu? Will my word documents open in Ubuntu for instance?

Since I have little to no experience with other systems, do people think this is a good option? Or should I look else where?

Last edited:

TheEcologist

Global Moderator
Hi Bugman,

I wont vote for Ubuntu, but I will also not start a holy war for my prefered distro (pclinuxos). My advice to you would be to get a stable Linux distro, one that is easy on beginners (Ubuntu is fine, PCLOS is also very suitable for beginners). If you come directly from windows a gentle transition desktop environment would be KDE, so if you go for PCLOS get it with KDE, or if you go for Ubuntu get Kubuntu [I use PCLOS-Gnome right now].

Why I use PCLOS:

It very stable, nothing is added unless it passes vigorous testing by Texstar (PCLOS creator) and his team.
Its a rolling release (look it up)
the help community on their forum is great
40 000 + programs can be installed directly through the repositories (Ubuntu as this as well though)

Concerning you question: In short I can tell you that all your word documents will open in Ubuntu, only problem is that they will look wierd your graphics won't showup, equations will be wrong, layout will randomly change. This has nothing to do with Ubuntu, and allot more to do with MS not providing comparability for opensource.

The perfect way around this: get oracle virtual box. You then run windows in a virtual PC, and have all the benefits of Linux while keeping full compatibility for your work or with your peers. I run my virtual machine in seamless mode or on an external monitor.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=i83cmuNAKNA

Preview of the look and feel op kubutu
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LdIEeJ9PnGc

vinux

Dark Knight