Use of linear mixed models for within subjects repeated measures experiment

Hello,

I am trying to argue that I used the correct statistical test for a paper that is currently in review. I have formulated a counter-argument, but I'm not an expert so I wanted to make sure I am correct.

In my experiment, I measured how long it took for subjects to complete a task. The experiment has a single within-subjects factor (call it Task) with 3 levels. Each subject completed 8 trials in each condition (a total of 24 trials).

I analyzed my data in long format in SPSS. The table has these headers:Subject, Task, Trial, Time
I used a linear mixed model to look for an overall effect on Time due to Task. I selected Subject as the "Subjects" variable, and Task and Trial as the "Repeated" variables.
Specifying the model, I chose Time as the dependent variable, and Subject and Task as the factors. I specified Task to be a fixed effect and Subject to be a random effect (note that I did not use the "Subject Groupings" part of this model).

A reviewer of the paper said that I should not have "compared the times across all trials in each condition, as this violated data independence." They suggested that I should have averaged the data for each subject so that each subject contributed a single data point.

Am I correct in responding that by using a mixed effects ANOVA with Subject as a random effect, I account for the dependencies among each subject's repeated measurements?

Thank you!

spunky

Doesn't actually exist
A reviewer of the paper said that I should not have "compared the times across all trials in each condition, as this violated data independence." They suggested that I should have averaged the data for each subject so that each subject contributed a single data point.